Lifting My Heart to God

I was joking around with my daughter today telling her how hard I work at work — when I am busy, as I usually am at the hospital, I run around with the words “go, go, go” in my mind. I get so much done; then when I come home, it’s “no go, no go, no go.” I transform from a go-go machine to a sit-sit machine. Happily, I write which involves sitting for the most part.

I like Paul’s words at the end of his second letter to the church at Corinth, when he exhorts them to “rejoice.” He then writes to them to “become mature, be encouraged, be of the same mind, be at peace.” (2 Corinthians 13:11, HCSB) I’m not sure maturity is self-acceptance or not, but being able to sit on my couch in the evening and write without guilt is wonderful.

And, when writing of the Lord, I admit I am encouraged. I am at peace. And I seek the unity of believers in which we are able to “be of one mind.” With the help of God the Holy Spirit, each one of us is an important part of the Body of Christ, each having his or her own gifts to advance the glory of God the Father.

So, here I am in my “sit-sit” mode, lifting my heart to God.

One thought on “Lifting My Heart to God

Leave a Reply

