Stacking the Deck ( by Carley Evans )

Watched a Johnson & Johnson commercial promoting nursing with a tagline of “Nurses Heal” and the nurse stating she believes in science and medicine and in “stacking the deck.” She puts a 4-leaf clover medallion in the palm of a comatose patient on a stretcher in an emergency room.

I believe in science and medicine, too. I also believe in stacking the deck. But, not with medallions or voodoo or horoscopes or seances or witchcraft or superstitions; instead I stack the deck with prayer.

Thank You, heavenly Father, that You are always listening, never tiring of our voices asking for Your interventions. In Jesus’ Name, help us to pray as we ought. Amen.

5 thoughts on “Stacking the Deck ( by Carley Evans )

  1. lambskinny says:

    I have an aside for this post:

    The moment I see the nurse approach the bedside, I expect her words to reflect her demeanor. I expect her to say, “I believe in science and medicine” then add the other line in the commercial that goes something like this, “But I am human. I believe in stacking the deck.” But from there I expect her to say, “That’s why I pray for my patients” rather than putting a 4-leaf clover in the man’s palm.

  2. mtsweat says:

    Amen Carley! I’ll take my chances with your stacked deck any day. Forget the lucky charm. Hmmm…”silly wabbit,” stacked decks are for God! (oh boy, where’d that come from?) God bless friend.

  3. Daystar says:

    “But, not with medallions or voodoo or horoscopes or seances or witchcraft or superstitions; instead I stack the deck with prayer.”

    The difference being what, exactly?

    • lambskinny says:

      That’s a great question, Daystar. Of course, the answer depends on your own point of view. If you are an atheist, then doing any of the above is kind of stupid unless you believe and worship a higher power who is evil — then you might go for the voodoo or seance or witchcraft. Indeed, faith is faith. You might have faith only in yourself. Or you might have faith in science alone.

      As for me, my faith rests squarely on the Word of God who is Jesus Christ. And that’s the ONLY difference between carrying around a four-leaf clover in a pocket and wishing on it and believing in God. They both exist; it’s that God actually has power and He’s perfect, so I’d rather rely on Him.

Leave a Reply

