Glory in Weakness ( by Carley Evans )

I love how Paul relies on the Lord, saying:

“The Lord rescues me from every evil attack, and brings me safely to His heavenly kingdom. To Him be the glory for ever and ever. Amen.” (2 Timothy 4:18,NIV)

When I was in high school, I used to think Paul was the most arrogant man who’d ever lived. I thought he was boasting in his letters to the churches. As a grew into my Christian faith, I came to see Paul as a man who glories in his own weakness because God’s power is shown perfect in man’s weaknesses.

John the Baptist similarly glories in his own weakness, recognizing that he is unfit to tie or untie the laces on the shoes of the Christ, who comes to him to be baptized in the Jordan. “I must decrease,” he says. “He must increase.”

The wretched sinner who does not lift his eyes when he prays glories in his own weakness for he knows he is not worthy of God’s attention, mercy, justice, love, forgiveness.

It is not the man who declares or thinks of himself as righteous who is justified; it is the man who knows he is unworthy. For everyone who exalts himself is humbled, but the humble God exalts.

“Forgive us, Lord, for thinking we can bring anything of value to You without You having given that value to us first. In Jesus’ Name, amen.”

3 thoughts on “Glory in Weakness ( by Carley Evans )

  1. lambskinny says:

    Thank you so very much, Dimitra. Carley

  2. lambskinny says:

    M.T. — I much appreciate that you like my note. Thanks! Carley

Leave a Reply

