Street Walking with Metal ( by Carley Evans )

This morning driving through one of the most violent cities in the United States I see a man in less than pristine clothes pushing a shopping cart up a slight grade of the road we are both traveling.

I know exactly where he is heading. I know because I drive this same road every work weekday, passing the scrap metal company with its hand painted sign “we buy metal”!

This man who appears both homeless and poor is leaning hard into the handle of the shopping cart because he has propped on its backside a huge sheet of metal, red brown with old rust.

That he is determined to get to his destination is obvious.

What he will be paid, I’ve no idea. What he will do with that money is a guess. Some would say alcohol or drugs; I lean toward food.

But no matter. He is inspiring for I don’t know how long he’s been pushing that heavy cart but I do know he has a quarter mile to a mile to go.

My car isn’t equipped for the size of the metal sheet and I am also certain the man would not give up his shopping cart! How would he carry his next load?

Father God thank You for Your many blessings! Help me to always be filled with gratitude! In Jesus’ Name, amen.

3 thoughts on “Street Walking with Metal ( by Carley Evans )

  1. lambskinny says:

    Thanks so much BiForever!

  2. lambskinny says:

    Thanks Michael. I’m going to write a novel in November as part of the November is National Novel Writing Month. Oh my, another blog! Link to novella METAL MAN WALKING to follow soon…

Leave a Reply

