Stuck in my iPhone ( by Carley Evans )

Go into any WAFFLE HOUSE or MOE’S and receive a warm verbal welcome: “Good morning” at Waffle House – usually morning for me because I like breakfast at the WH – and “Welcome to Moe’s” at that fast food establishment. Either way, either place – you get a welcome!

This morning, I didn’t get the usual greeting and offer of coffee at the local WH. In fact, none of the staff looked in my direction until supposedly I “stuck my nose in my phone.” Then the wait staff reportedly said to the top of my head, “I’ll be right with you.” I didn’t hear her.

My point is not that I shouldn’t be fooling around with WordPress on my iPhone or that the waitress was too soft-spoken. My point is how important eye contact is in everyday communication.

The fact that no one looked me in the eye during that 5 or 6 minutes I was waiting is the only reason I wasn’t sure I had even been noticed when I sat down at the counter facing the cook, the cashier, and yes — my waitress. None of them looked at me, not once.

I imagine Jesus’ eye contact is perfect — you think! Warm, loving windows to His perfect soul; sharp, authoritative windows to His perfect will. He looks at you with just the right amount and quality of eye contact. He communicates directly and completely; never a misstep, never a forgotten thought, never a cruel look, never a pretense of ‘oh I don’t see you there.’

Thank You, Lord that You see me just as I am and love me anyway. In Your Holy Name, I praise You always. Amen.

16 thoughts on “Stuck in my iPhone ( by Carley Evans )

  1. this made me think…thank you

  2. I love your posts! What a wonderful insight coming from an ordinary everyday-type experience. You are an inspiration!

  3. lambskinny says:

    Thanks Imtellinggod. I appreciate that you “like” my post. God bless. Carley

  4. We are never forsaken.

  5. mtsweat says:

    Praise the Lord, we don’t have to beat our coffee cup on the table to get our Lord’s attention. Good lesson, Carley. Thanks and God bless.

    p.s. – what really works well at getting attention is playing one of those hated ringtones, then act like you’re answering, and talk really loud. Of course, at WH, no one will hear it over the clanging pots and pans. lol

    • lambskinny says:

      Naw, all my ringtones are pleasant, M.T.
      Seriously, I just stare at the waitstaff until someone looks at me. Most of the time, people are really aware you are looking at them. Who knows — maybe that’s why they pretend not to ‘see’ me.
      Thanks for your ongoing support, M.T. God bless.
      Carley

  6. Jeff says:

    Interesting thing. At a Gamestop store, when you walk in, an associate will speak to you. If you do not respond, or duck your head, they will watch you, because their research says that someone who won’t make eye contact with them is a potential thief.

    • lambskinny says:

      Jeff, that may be true – I mean that people who won’t make eye contact are potential thieves – but think of the children, teens, and adults with autistic spectrum disorder who have so much trouble with eye contact. How sad for them if they are thought of as potential thieves, if they are actually just good customers. God bless, Carley

  7. Hi Carley. Funny, this is the first time I have been here to visit you; and I came through facebook. Reading Jeff’s comment makes me wonder if sales people think I am a potential thief, because I always think if I don’t look at the sales staff in a small store, maybe they will ignore me and let me shop in peace. However, I am glad the Lord will tap me on the head to get my attention when needed and does not just ignore me. Even more glad that all I have to do is say His name and His full attention is on me.

    • lambskinny says:

      Drusilla, hope you’ll consider subscribing to ‘obsecrations.’ I cherish your readership.

      I also am super glad God never ignores us!

      Thanks! God bless you, Carley

Leave a Reply

