The Entire World ( by Carley Evans )

While writing a post over at Grace Partakers, I got stuck on the verses surrounding 2 Corinthians 5: 17 in which Paul declares that if any one be in Christ, he or she is a new creature. The verses surrounding this wonderful passage speak of God in Christ reconciling the world to Himself, “not imputing their trespasses unto them.” (2 Corinthians 5:19, KJV) Paul writes that Christ “dies for all” and that “all things are of God, who reconciles us to Himself by Jesus Christ.” (2 Corinthians 5:15,18)

Some people believe God’s intention is to reconcile the entire world to Himself so that ultimately He condemns no one; that all are saved by the power of the Cross.

Do these verses — and any others — lend support to this view?

4 thoughts on “The Entire World ( by Carley Evans )

  1. lambskinny says:

    Thank you Patricia.

  2. mtsweat says:

    Provoking thoughts, Carley. I did something this past year that is very uncommon for me, and definately is it rare that I would confess my doing it. I added to my list of reads for 2011 a couple books that would probably have me dismissed or excommunicated. Of course from the context of your note, and my words, I’m sure you guessed one of them was Rob Bell’s controversial title (Love Wins). The other was similar.

    While I’m confident he afforded himself liberties where they aren’t allowed by Scripture, he makes an excellent argument for our abandonment of ‘what is Jesus doing in your life right now’ as compared to our total placement of His words to a future eternity. I was very impressed with his section on the rich man and Lazarus, as I have always had problems seeing this as a literal story of two men dieing and going to their eternal destinies. Without a whole lot of manipulation, the story (taken as heaven and hell) dictates that those with… go to hell, while those without… go to heaven. Bell renders the message as a condemnation of greed and selfishness, a common theme in Jesus’ teachings.

    While I’m not willing to subscribe to universalism just yet (and probably never), texts like yours presented make me all the gladder I don’t handle that part of the equation, but leave it up to God. Way to get us thinking. God bless. (sorry for the extra long comment)

    • lambskinny says:

      Oh I appreciate your long comment, Michael. I’ve been dealing with this particular question after reading a commentary on Ephesians in which the author implies that when ALL things are brought under the headship and unity of Christ at the fullness of time, then all will finally be reconciled to God. It is hard to believe God can not and is not willing to do this very thing — it does not negate the glory of following Christ in the here and now; what a privilege to be His ambassador to those in darkness. What a wonder to be a part of the Light in the present time. Just thoughts; no conclusions. Carley

Leave a Reply

