Tears ( by Carley Evans )

I drive through one of the most violent, dangerous cities in America every morning in my little Scion XA 5 speed automobile. All 4 doors are locked. I’m not particularly afraid. After all, I stop at a local Hess gas station every morning of the work week to purchase a cup of Dunkin Donuts coffee — I always use a so called single use paper cup to get a refill and so a small discount on the price. Additionally, I reduce my impact on the environment. (Yes, I could use a plastic cup but I would never wash it and the gunk growing in its bottom might eventually kill me!)

Occasionally, a person will approach me for gas money. And yes, I always give the person something, usually not very much I am sad to say. I call for generosity but find I am not an exceptionally generous person.

As for generosity: a few years ago, in a local paper, I discovered that the firemen in my town make less than 24,000 dollars a year. I was shocked. To me, a fireman is the epitome of the public servant, putting his life on the line for property and for the lives of others. How many people, do you suppose, give money to their local firehouse, either at Christmas or some other time of the year? How many churches, do you suppose, support their local firehouse? or police department? or hospital? or public schools?

I guess what I am getting at — taxes are a necessity. No fireman should make 24,000 dollars a year! for lack of tax revenue.

7 thoughts on “Tears ( by Carley Evans )

  1. lambskinny says:

    Thanks Susie and Ziiplight.

  2. Jeff says:

    I agree with you. People who put their lives on the line for the public (and teachers, as well) should make more than doctors and lawyers. But sadly, that will never happen.

  3. Thanks for the insight. I had no idea they made so little! Yes, I agree sports figures’ salaries are unreal. I love baseball as does Jeff, and try to forget about that injustice when I go to games. There is so much injustice in the world. Being out there without Jesus would be unimaginable for me!

  4. lambskinny says:

    Thank you Michael.

Leave a Reply

