God’s Example of Love ( by Carley Evans )

The Prophet Hosea, by Duccio di Buoninsegna, i...

God asks Hosea to love his wife again, even though she is an adulteress and has betrayed his trust. God says, “Love her as I love the children of Israel even though they betray Me with other gods and with addiction to alcohol.”

“Then said the LORD unto me, Go yet, love a woman beloved of her friend, yet an adulteress, according to the love of the LORD toward the children of Israel, who look to other gods, and love flagons of wine.” (Hosea 3:1, KJV)

God says to Hosea, “You think you’ve been hurt! I created Israel to be My own, and this people turn against Me! Yes, you are hurt as I Am hurt. Like Me, take your adulteress wife back into your defiled marriage bed and make her your own again, despite her betrayal. Do this according to the example of love I set for you. Love the unlovable.”

10 thoughts on “God’s Example of Love ( by Carley Evans )

  1. lambskinny says:

    Thanks Chief of Least.

  2. lambskinny says:

    Thank you Plantain Periodicals.

  3. lambskinny says:

    Blessings Photos Botos.

  4. Thank you Carley – I needed this today.

  5. Great entry, Carley. Great advice straight from Scripture for those going through marraige difficulties. Thanks for sharing .

  6. mtsweat says:

    Love the ‘unlovable’ statement, Carley. The prophet Hosea is such an awesome picture of God redeeming His unlovable… for no other reason than His love. Just like Gomer, we all played the harlot, but He chose us anyway (He chose us knowing we would play the harlot). What a Savior! Thanks, good friend. Good to be back, but I have a ton of reading now to catch up on. Missing a day in blogland leaves an abundance… miss two weeks, and I’m overwhelmed! God bless.

    • lambskinny says:

      Michael, two weeks ago, with your sudden absence, my blog visits plummeted. I wondered. I prayed. I examined myself. I kept on, but here on WordPress I was — at times — discouraged.

      FB visits/comments have always been better than here on WP, but I missed your comments! (i.e. they aren’t on FB!)

      Glad you are back! Glad you are well!
      Blessings, good friend.
      Carley

Leave a Reply

