Who Can Say? ( by Carley Evans )

 

Image

 

“Who can say, I have made my heart clean, I am pure from my sin?” (Proverbs 20:9, KJV)

 

I’ve heard people say this; I must admit the statement always surprises me. I’ve never said this because I’ve never accomplished this feat. I’m able to say, “Jesus made my heart clean, so I am pure from my sin.” But, I can’t say, I never sin.

To believe you never sin — that’s equivalent to believing you are perfect. You never make a mistake, you never do less than your very best, you never strike back, you never take more than your share, you never speak ill of another, you never go to bed with worry or anger in your heart, you never fail to notice someone’s pain, you never fail to help, you never roll your eyes, you never look away, you never forget to care, you never turn your back, you never run away.

I can not imagine.

I can know that Jesus is such a person. Like the lamb slaughtered as a substitute for people who sin, so Jesus substitutes Himself for me. His death on the cross wipes away my sins, though they be as red as the tide befouled by algae. And so, I stand pure before His Father in heaven.

5 thoughts on “Who Can Say? ( by Carley Evans )

  1. mtsweat says:

    Amen! Amen! Amen! We do stand perfect, holy, and righteous before God… because we are clothed in Christ’s blood! Thanks you for a wonderful word, Carley! Jesus! God bless.

  2. […] Who Can Say? ( by Carley Evans ) (obsecrations.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

