Sharing My Kid ( by Carley Evans )

The lights were out in my room; the dogs were settling down when I heard that little ding from my iPhone [which functions as my alarm clock.] I don’t know why I checked it; I was relatively certain it was a notification from WP and not a text message from my daughter or father or mother [the only people I know who might text me at that hour.]

I reached for my glasses [no! I don’t want to wear contacts; thank you], but couldn’t locate them in the near total darkness. I turned on the standing lamp, put on my now visible glasses and looked at my iPhone. I saw these words [in addition to the content that automatically comes from WP regarding comments]:

“By the way, I got your book this week. I’ll be reading it soon.”

Well, lo and behold, my little heart just lept with joy.

Now, I’ve been steadily selling my novel, METAL MAN WALKING (preview) by hawking it to people I know and to acquaintances and sometimes to total strangers. The online selling, on the other hand, has been slower than a snail’s progress across a hot sidewalk! I knew several someones had recently purchased my book from either Amazon.com or from my e-Store. But who?

Now I know at least one of “the who?”

What is remarkable to me is how much it means to me to sell a copy of METAL MAN WALKING. The feeling is akin to the one you might get while watching your child talk to and play with another child. You’re relieved your child reaches out to another; you’re pleased your child shares himself or herself; you’re glad and proud that’s your kid!

Thanks for reading my kid!

8 thoughts on “Sharing My Kid ( by Carley Evans )

  1. lambskinny says:

    Thanks “Jesus My Joy” — of course, I hope you’ll purchase and read my novel. I recently got a great verbal review (one that actually shocked me!) :
    “I finished your novel this weekend. I couldn’t put it down.”
    Wow!
    Blessings, Carley

  2. lambskinny says:

    Thanks Sharmishtha. Hope your own writing is going well. And of course, I still trust you will read MMW, my novel. Blessings, Carley

  3. lambskinny says:

    Thank you Cara — hope you’ll consider buying a copy. Blessings, Carley

  4. mtsweat says:

    Hi Carley! Is MMW available to download to Kindle, Nook, or E-reader yet (tried to find it, but to no avail… but then, Jeff had to show me how to get to a Bonhoeffer book)? Curious, because these things have taken off and have become so popular that I’m confident many more copies will move when it is available. I was once a die hard hold-a-book-in-my-hands guy, but now love being able to carry my entire library with me. Just curious good friend. God bless.

    • lambskinny says:

      Hi Michael,
      I am resisting Kindle/Nook/eReader for a variety of reasons but no. 1 reason is that I don’t get to set the price. Once Amazon, etc. sets the price, I have no recourse but to accept a very very very small royalty — we are talking pennies!
      I’m not greedy, but right now I refuse to just give my work away.
      So, I’m holding out.
      Hope this does not discourage you from buying copies for your friends and loved ones!
      Happy to have you stop by! Been missing you.
      Carley

Leave a Reply

