Reality Is Enough ( by Carley Evans )

Obesity Campaign Poster

Obesity Campaign Poster (Photo credit: Pressbound)

Watching one of my fav sit-com reruns this morning as I try to overcome a lousy headache. Intermittently, as we all know, come commercials. I was just burdened with one advertising DANCE MOMS showing a morbidly obese woman dressed all in black, cocking her head back and forth in slow motion while screaming at her tiny, skinny daughter dressed in tights and sequins.  Of course, there are other shows – that granted I’ve never watched – with similar advertisements: THE VOICE, AMERICA’S GOT TALENT, DANCING WITH THE STARS, REAL HOUSEWIVES (of numerous cities), THE FEAR FACTOR, BRIDEZILLAS, QUEER EYE FOR THE STRAIGHT GUY, SWAPPING WIVES (or is it houses?), NEW JERSEY something or other. See, I can’t even get the titles correct.

Some shows that are reality based I have watched. I’ve seen TOP CHEF, KITCHEN NIGHTMARES, PROJECT RUNWAY, and DIRTY JOBS. Some of these I find educational as well as entertaining. For example, I’ve learned a lot about the working world from DIRTY JOBS and I’ve learned why I don’t cook from TOP CHEF and why I don’t ever want to own a restaurant from KITCHEN NIGHTMARES. I’ve learned that the world of designing clothes is cut-throat from PROJECT RUNWAY.

But, I don’t ever want to watch Kim Kar – I can’t spell her name and refuse to ‘google’ it. I don’t care to watch mothers abuse their children or women bitch about each other or brides bust their friends or people engage in dangerous stunts for the sake of thrills or fear or whatever! I also don’t care to see people belittled or praised beyond compare on television talent shows.

At any rate, television bewilders me. I’m sitting here watching FRASIER as Frasier and Niles attempt to write a book on sibling relationships. I enjoy this type of program only because I like the characters and the smart scripts. The other television show I watch is M*A*S*H for the same reasons – I like Hawkeye, Colonel Potter, Radar, Klinger, Charles, BJ and Margaret. If I didn’t like these characters, I’d turn the box off.

Tell me, why does America like mean people who are real?

13 thoughts on “Reality Is Enough ( by Carley Evans )

  1. lambskinny says:

    Reblogged this on Versatile Blogger Award and commented:

    I haven’t shared one of my own posts in a while; hope my fellow VBA Winners don’t mind…

  2. lambskinny says:

    Thanks Humanity 777.

  3. I’m sure it isn’t just America since in the UK we have our share of the same programmes plus My Big Fat Gypsy Wedding and others. There seems to be an obsession with watching what are supposed to be other people ‘s lives. But it isn’t so, because all of these people know they’re on camera and play to that so we see nothing real at all.
    I couldn’t stomach watching so called reality TV though my wife loves Superfat v Superskinny for some reason. Give me my Big Bang Theory and leave me in a corner smiling.

  4. lambskinny says:

    Thank you Malin Kass Studio.

  5. lambskinny says:

    Thank you Big Smile and The Tale of My Heart.

  6. lambskinny says:

    Thanks so much, Jeff.

  7. lambskinny says:

    Thank you TK Soni.

  8. mtsweat says:

    As we sat watching “The Big Valley” I couldn’t help but think, we could save a lot of money by turning off the SAT, Cable, etc., and purchase Wal-Mart specials on fifty year old programs and be perfectly content. Blessings, good friend.

    • lambskinny says:

      Michael, That’s an interesting idea. I avoid so much of what’s on television and cable in terms of ‘original’ programming, but love reruns of M*A*S*H, Frazier, Cheers (some episodes anyway), All in the Family, The Cosby Show, and others. When I was younger I loved Bonanza and Gunsmoke and Have Gun Will Travel and even The Rifleman and I Love Lucy and the Mary Tyler Moore Show, Laverne and Shirley… so much better… still loving The Newsroom on HBO, Mad Men on AMC and yes – The Walking Dead. It’s reality t.v. that bewilders me especially; oh, and soap operas!

Leave a Reply

